American League Predictions

This month’s UCB project is a week-long look at trying to predict what will happen in the MLB this year. Getting it right is probably just as likely as making a perfect bracket, and we all know how that went. I didn’t make simulations or use any stats to make these decisions, so I guarantee that they’ll be wrong somewhere. Also, I’m not going to try to predict the records of the clubs, but rather just where they finish in the division. 

American League East
Red Sox
Rays
Orioles
Yankees
Blue Jays

This division is probably the hardest to predict. The Blue Jays have talented players, but tanked last year, and didn’t do much in the offseason, so I’m just going to keep them in last place. The Yankees improved how they always do, by buying the market. They took Beltran, Ellsbury, McCann, and Tanaka. They’re still an aging team, in a strong division, and I don’t see them doing well. The Orioles have their issues, but unlike some of the other clubs in this division, they’re more of a team even though they have players that are less talented. Other than Chris Davis, that is. He’s a beast. The Rays are another one of those talented teams, but more or less a talented pitching staff. Most of the time good pitching equals wins, and so I gave them second. I don’t think that the Red Sox gained or lost much in the offseason, and so I think they’ll still be the team to beat.

American League Central
Tigers
Royals
Indians
White Sox
Twins

I think this one might be the easiest to predict. I say that now, but let’s see how it is in September. Tigers are easily the favorites, and the Twins are easily in the cellar. The White Sox will edge out the Twins for sucking just a little less. The hardest part was figuring out the Royals and Indians in 2 and 3. The Indians have an ok team, but I think that the Royals are on the rise. I think that they’ll be able to edge them out for 2nd in the division, barely. Both should be fighting for a wild card at the end of the season. 

American League West
A’s
Angels
Rangers
Mariners
Astros

This is another division where the bottom is easy to predict: the Astros. I don’t know when they’ll start moving up, but with the way that they’re gobbling up former Cardinals, they could easily be the Cardinals AAA team right now. Unfortunately, I think they’re really at the talent level of a AAA team right now, though. The Mariners will improve their record, and have a chance to move up to third, but it’s hard for me to put them above the Rangers. The fight at the top is interesting. Most people will probably predict that the Angels will win the division, but I’m just not convinced that the older players (notably Ibanez, Pujols, and Hamilton) are going to be able to get back into form. People think they will, and that’s well and good, but I’m a skeptic. I won’t believe it until I see it. 

Well, that’s what I predict for the American League. I’m not exactly the most well versed in the AL, and so I’m glad that I only have to talk about those DH using heathens for a day. If you think I’m wrong, feel free to tell me where, or make your own predictions as well. I promise I’m wrong somewhere, but we’ll just have to wait until the season plays out to find out exactly where.

One comment

  1. Pingback: March 2014 Project: Preseason Predictions — United Cardinal Bloggers

Leave a Reply

